Excerpt #1

There was something about his eye that caught me. His body said brave and bold, but his eye was filled with worry and suspicion. “It’s okay boy.” I held out my hand like I was trying to give an offering of some sort that I didn’t have, lead rope tucked behind my back. He looked interested but of course I snapped a stick as I took a step forward and he shied away.

What did he want? What could I offer him? It’s not like I could’ve sat down and said, “Hey look buddy, if you come with me, whatever happened back then will never happen again” and expect him to understand my words. It was only my actions that were going to matter. He stopped and pawed the ground as I stepped back, like something out of a movie.

“I don’t know what you’re saying. I don’t know what you want.” That undeniable thought, What the hell are you doing? You have no business or skill set to deal with this… followed by that pull I was in the right place and doing the right thing.

Who knew that after this moment, as he finally walked up to me and I clipped the lead onto his halter… This was the first day of the rest of my life.

Author: Madeline C.

25+ something self-employed eventer wannabe. Horses are my life along with a fuzzy American lab and a Tiger cat named Mitch. My heart belongs to a 2006 AQHA Hunt Seat bred gelding named Tear Drop Winken... or for short, "Brantley".

2 thoughts on “Excerpt #1”

Leave a Reply

