Horse Health, keratoma, Self Improvement, Uncategorized

Riding the Wave

All I know is that I am about ready to sit a buck to get some ride time as soon as this snow melts. We got in four good days of in-hand work and movement on the lunge before New England realized they almost missed the most important part of the winter. Snow. But we can’t really complain because minus the rain, it’s been pretty mild and we were able to keep working up until the beginning of the New Year.

Brantley was happy to get back to work more than Dylan last week. I’m not sure if it’s the inconsistency or the fact that being on the lunge is something that he hates the most, but he’s been a little more grumpy than I’d like to see. Part of me has a feeling that there may be some ulcer troubles with the little Yellow Horse even though he’s not showing the normal, every day signs. We have some better weather on the way and I’m a little tapped out for vet visits and scoping funds, but I have some ideas. Let the research begin!

Good news though! The farrier came out this past weekend and although in my head I had planned to pop shoes on both boys all around, we decided with the weather we’d give B a trim and wait another 5 weeks. I cautiously asked about Dylan because it’s almost been a year since his surgery (May 2023) and if Dave the Farrier thought he’d be ready to be barefoot even if it was only through one trim cycle. I really like to give their feet a break when I can. I didn’t get my hopes up when he went to work on that right hand, but like magic… the hole was gone.

I will admit, that morning was a little wild and although I cheered and danced and called everyone to tell them, I don’t think it fully hit until throwing these pictures together. I wish I had been better about documenting his trims instead of a quick picture grab and bad angles but hey, we’re doing our best over here and it’s been a long year. I’m just so happy that it’s finally over and he can really start to go back to living his regular Yellow Horse life, and hopefully back out with his friends full time.

I mentioned my new position at work in my previous post and this new schedule has been incredible. You don’t realize something so small would have as big as an impact in such a short period of time. I’m already trying to figure out a plan for training with Natalie and my sessions with Katie are already booked, so I already feel like we’re off to a good start even though I haven’t been able to sit on a horse yet.

Planning. Planning. Planning. That is my number goal for this season, other than being kinder to myself. I want to pre-plan and execute said plan as best as I can.

It also helps that I am really enjoying the work that I am doing at said job. It’s organized chaos and I am feeding off of it in all the good ways. My teammate is incredible and although we both get easily distracted, we keep each other on task with a laugh and she’s so easy to learn from. One thing I made sure I did before my first official day was take up my space again. I cleaned, organized, and spent a little too much at Target, but my little “office-closet” is more my own space than it has ever been.

Yes, of course I got fairy lights and another calendar to not be consistent about filling out, but it’s my own little corner, with my own little worn out chair. We just need one more dog bed and we’ll be good. It’s incredible how productive and uplifting it can be when you take up space for yourself.

I’m just riding this dopamine boost as best I can. It’s funny that they say it’s okay to not be okay, but sometimes you just want to grin and bear it and not take “not okay” for an answer. I think in that sense, being okay is harder than just being okay with… not being okay (confusing, I know). So we’re just doing the things and waiting for the moments that fill our cup a little more. That’s all we can ask for right?

Here’s to being okay and riding the wave until the next one comes.

Until next time… xo

3 thoughts on “Riding the Wave”

Leave a comment